On November 1, 2021, the U.S. Department of State’s Directorate of Defense Trade Controls (DDTC) issued a final rule adding Ethiopia to the Proscribed Country List found in the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) in § 126.1 and also updating the existing restrictions on Eritrea.

A policy of denial now applies to licenses (or other approvals) for exports of defense articles or defense services to or for the armed forces, police, intelligence, or other internal security forces of either Ethiopia or Eritrea. The details of this policy can be found in ITAR § 126.1(h) and (n).

This policy change was made in response to concerns of the ongoing crisis in northern Ethiopia along with other threats to Ethiopia’s sovereignty, national unity, and territorial integrity. People in northern Ethiopia continue to suffer human rights violations, abuses, and atrocities. But as this occurs, Ethiopian and Eritrean militaries are blocking needed humanitarian relief. The Secretary of State announced in May of 2021 restrictions on security assistance to Ethiopia and Eritrea. This final rule makes the ITAR consistent with this announcement.

The Federal Register notices are available here.